Continuous expansion of the plant since 2007

Diversified raw material sourcing

Longterm customer relationships

More than 35.000t of high quality pellets every year

Your contact:
Helmut Beinhakl
+43-(0)3617-21637
helmut.beinhakl(at)cycleenergy.com

Our plant Gaishorn

Our biomass CHP (combined heat and power) plant, accounting for 4.3 MWel and 12 MWth, is located in North West Styria, one of the most highly forested regions in Austria. At the site, which was built in 2007 and has belonged to the Cycleenergy Group since 2009, 2 biomass boilers and 2 turbines are operated to generate electricity, heat and steam. The raw materials mainly used are forest wood chips and forest wood waste from the local area. On this basis about 30,000 MWh of renewable electric energy are fed into the grid every year.

At around 45,000 MWh a year a large proportion of the heat generated is delivered to a neighbouring company, Mayr-Melnhof, and up to 12,000 MWh of saturated steam is used by the company Münzer for the sustainable production of biodiesel. Other heat customers nearby are our pellet plant and a new material pre-drying plant that was installed at the beginning of 2016, which considerably boosts the efficiency of the power station by pre-drying the raw material and thus reducing the level of moisture in the forest wood chips.

At the Gaishorn site we also produce up to 40,000 t of top-quality pellets annually. We obtain the sawdust and wood shavings required as a raw material for production directly from sawmills and wood processing companies in the region. If there is a shortage of sawdust, however, our wet wood shavings processing plant enables us to prepare round wood ourselves and turn it into pellets. Our pellets are solely produced according to the ENplus A1 standard, the highest standard of quality for pellets in Europe. This standard is characterised by minimal abrasion, very low ash content, high solidity, consistent size structure and a very high degree of wood purity. This is the quality that our long-standing customers appreciate.

Kontinuierlicher Ausbau des Werks seit 2007

Diversifizierte Beschaffung der Rohstoffe

Langfristige Kundenbeziehungen

Mehr als 35.000t Pellets höchster Qualität jedes Jahr

Ihr Ansprechpartner:
Helmut Beinhakl
+43-(0)3617-21637
helmut.beinhakl(at)cycleenergy.com

Unser Werk Gaishorn

Unser Biomasseheizkraftwerk mit 4,3 MWel und 12 MWth befindet sich im Nordwesten der Steiermark, einem der am stärksten bewaldeten Gebiete Österreichs. Am 2007 erbauten Standort, der seit dem Jahr 2009 zur Cycleenergy-Gruppe gehört, werden 2 Biomassekessel sowie 2 Turbinen für die Erzeugung von Strom, Wärme und Dampf betrieben. Als Rohstoff wird hierbei überwiegend Waldhackgut sowie Waldholzabfälle der näheren Umgebung eingesetzt und auf dieser Basis Jahr für Jahr rund 30.000 MWh an erneuerbaren Strom ins Netz eingespeist.


Mit rund 45.000 MWh jährlich wird ein Großteil der erzeugten Wärme an die benachbarte Firma Mayr-Melnhof geliefert. Bis zu 12.000 MWh/a an Sattdampf werden vom ebenfalls benachbarten Unternehmen Münzer für die nachhaltige Erzeugung von Biodiesel eingesetzt. Weitere Wärmeabnehmer am Standort sind unser Pelletwerk sowie eine Anfang 2016 neu installierte Materialvortrocknungsanlage, welche durch die Vortrocknung des Rohstoffs und dem damit einhergehenden geringeren Feuchtigkeitsgrad des Waldhackguts die Effizienz des Kraftwerks deutlich steigert.

Am Standort Gaishorn erzeugen wir zudem bis zu 40.000 t hochwertiger Pellets pro Jahr. Die als Rohstoff benötigten Säge- und Hobelspäne für die Produktion beziehen wir direkt von Säge- und Holzverarbeitungsbetrieben aus der Region. Unsere Nassspanaufbereitungsanlage ermöglicht es uns auch bei Knappheit von Sägespäne Rundholz selbst aufzubereiten und daraus Pellets zu erzeugen. Unsere Pellets werden ausschließlich gemäß ENplus A1 Standard produziert, dem höchsten Qualitätsstandard für Pellets in Europa. Geringer Abrieb, sehr geringer Aschegehalt, hohe Festigkeit, gleichmäßige Größenstruktur und höchster Holz-Reinheitsgrad zeichnen diesen Standard aus. Unsere langjährigen Kunden wissen diese Qualität zu schätzen.